70 years of experience

Recor was officially established in 1949 by René Corthouts. The company name is a contraction of the first letters of the founder's first name and surname. René Corthouts, only 24 years old at the time, devoted himself to the production and sales of mattresses, all from a small building in Hasselt.

Market leader with name and fame

Driven by innovation, the company has undergone explosive growth — growth based on sleeping comfort, which is and remains a fundamental mainstay of the company. Recor has convincingly developed into the Belgian market leader in quality furniture — from sleeping comfort to sofas and cabinet systems — and an international furniture group. But Recor secured its reputation with high-quality mattresses and, by extension, with its innovative sleep systems.

Research & Development

In its own Research & Development Department, designers and engineers work together closely on technological and aesthetic innovations with a view to creating the best sleep systems in which high-quality mattresses are combined with interactive slatted bed bases and box springs!

Record-breaking comfort

In 1987, the production of the mattresses and box springs was moved to a modern factory in Genk. The factory caused a furore, thanks to the expertise of the employees, and laser-guided cutting machines, automatic stitching machines and a completely new adhesives line were put into operation. Despite the intensive industrial processes, Recor Bedding continues to prioritise traditional handiwork. This, in turn, serves as the basis for Quality Sleep, a philosophy of dedication and the unceasing pursuit of quality, perfection and respect to do everything possible to ensure the ultimate sleeping comfort for the end user.

Do you want to subscribe to our newsletter?

70 ans d'expérience

Recor a été officiellement fondée en 1949 par René Corthouts, qui a emprunté les premières lettres de son prénom et de son nom pour dénommer son entreprise. C’est dans un petit local à Hasselt que notre fondateur, âgé d’à peine 24 ans, s’est lancé dans la fabrication et la vente de matelas.

Leader incontesté et incontestable du marché

Mue par sa soif d’innover, l’entreprise connaît une croissance explosive et se concentre sur le confort du sommeil, qui reste à ce jour notre principale préoccupation. Recor se positionne avec conviction en tant que leader du marché belge du mobilier de qualité – du confort du sommeil aux sofas en passant par les armoires – et acquiert une notoriété internationale. Le groupe devient réputé pour ses matelas de qualité, et par extension ses systèmes de couchage novateurs.

Recherche & Développement

Recor Bedding dispose d'un département R&D au sein duquel nos concepteurs et ingénieurs réfléchissent ensemble aux innovations technologiques et esthétiques en vue de proposer les meilleurs systèmes de couchage du marché, combinant des matelas de qualité supérieure à des sommiers interactifs et boxsprings.

Un confort inégalé

En 1987, la production de matelas et de boxsprings est transférée vers des installations modernes à Genk. L’usine connaît un grand succès grâce à l’expertise de nos collaborateurs et abrite entre autres des découpeuses à guidage laser, des machines à coudre automatiques et une encolleuse flambant neuve. Malgré ces processus industriels avancés, Recor Bedding continue à accorder une grande importance au travail manuel. Au travers de notre philosophie Quality Sleep, nous nous engageons à toujours poursuivre la qualité, la perfection et le respect, à nous donner les moyens de tout mettre en œuvre pour offrir un confort de sommeil ultime à l’utilisateur final.

Je m’inscris à la newsletter !